By Syed Parwaiz Imam

RIYADH, Nov. 10 – The skipper of Al Shams Sweets team, Abdul Razzaq who bowled a deadly spell, capturing five wickets for 21 runs, thus guided his team in capturing the Central Province Cricket Association (CPCA) Walls Ice Cream night championship trophy played at the Saudi Ceramic company (SCC) floodlit ground.
The new champions beat SCC Janbaz by 33 runs in the final. A total of eighteen teams took part in this thrilling night event of it kind, said Asif Saleem, vice president of CPCA.
Winning the toss and batting first, Al Shams made 179 for 7 wickets in the allotted 20-overs. Sohail was the highest scorer with 57. The other contributors were Adil 36, Moazzam 27, Saeed 24 and Maqsood 10. The not out batsmen were Yousuf on 6 and the all rounder Razzaq yet to score.
For the losers, Shoaib captured three wickets for 34. Dil Nawaz had two for 28 and Rashid picked up one for 38 runs.
The chase to the winning mark was not an easy one for SCC Janbaz. They lost openers Rashid run out on 17 and Yousuf then caught for 10. Immediately after, the deadly spell of Razzaq brought doom. The whole side was all out on 146 in just 12.5 overs.

Others amongst the runs were Abdulaziz 27, Dil Nawaz 25, Haneef 18, Shoaib 13 and Shahid 10. Besides the man of the match Razzaq, the other who met with success with ball were Moazzam and Abid, both of whom claimed a victim each for 23 and 39 runs.
At the awarding, which followed, the chief guest was S. A. Ziauddin, senior vice president Saudi Hollandi Bank. SCC were represented by Suleiman Al Khelaifi - general manager, Omar Yasin, M. Y. Abbasi, Ibrahim Osman, Philip Tetteh, Majam Sadib, Ather Farooqi and Eid El Bugaim.

The other notables included Nadeem Irshad, CPCA president Wilfrid A. Paes and Irfan Siddiqui of Walls Ice Cream/Unilever. They all took part in the colorful prize distribution ceremony in which various awards for the individual performances recorded at different stages of the tourneywere given out.
Some of these recipients were Maqsood (Al Shams Sweets) – best batsman, Radha Krishna (Sandstones) – best bowler and Moazzam (Al Sham Sweets) – best all rounder.