Advertise Here

Table Tennis

Back to mail sports page

Winner Allauddin Mursi (left) of Al Fateh club collects his trophy from S.K. Maqsood (Photo Courtesy of Shahnawaz)

RIYADH, Dec. 25 – The Kingdom international Shubber Hashim who plays for Al Salaam club overcame a strong challenge in the final from his former team-mate, Bunder Omairi in three thrilling games to capture the top Flight title in the 5th EPTTPA Open table tennis tournament which was played at the Ittefaq sports hall in Dammam.
The promising champion defeated the challenger by 21-14, 17-21, 21-16 margin to the excitement of his home fans. It was sweet reward, as last year he did not even make it to the last four. Against Bunder who has been Saudi national champion four times and presently is the manager of the national team, Shubber was at his best, displaying his powerful forehand and backhand drives. The loser who flew in from Jeddah, despite using his usual combination rubbers on his racket did force the victor to make some easy mistakes. However, the eventual champion made sure of the success by remaining clam during the course of the encounter.
Khalid Khudhair of Jeddah based Al Ahli club ended third while the fourth position went to the current Gulf champion, Abdulaziz Al Abbad. The latter defeated Abdullah Nasser and Aman Hashim but went down to the champion in the semifinal.
Allauddin Mursi, an Egyptian coach of Al Fateh club won over the defending hero of Flight-2. He defeated Khader Moinuddin by 21-19, 21-23, 21-13. The latter who hails from Abahsain club beat Naeem Hashim in the same event to win the crown last year but could not maintain the same pace this time. Naeem bagged the bronze and Abdulaziz Taher ended fourth here.
The young talented junior, Abdul Rahman, a student of 8th class, representing Abahsain club raced away with the Flight-7 championship. Only recently in the Inter School games held in Jeddah, he also won the individual and double titles for his school in Dammam. His performance was really praise worthy, which led to the team championship as well.
In addition to the large crowd, this popular annual event which is contested by the top Saudis and expatriates from Flights 1 to 12 was also graced by Francois Xavier Meurville, Ghayasuddin Ahmad, Rad, Farrukh Seer, S. Kyriazis, Captain Nayeem Siddiqui, Abdullah and Muhammed Asif Niaz.
The gala was sponsored by Al Rabie, Saudi Hollandi Bank, Saudi Pearl Insurance (Tragex), Frigex-Greece, Al Bank Al Saudi Al Fransi, Whinney Murray, Trans-Saudi, Lipton Ice Tea, Marhaba restaurant and Abahsain chemicals.
In the end, S. K. Maqsood, chairman of the organizing committee thanked all the sponsors and the Ittefaq sports club management for their continued cooperation. He also appreciated the efforts of John Lennon from KFUPM in providing his services for the tourney.
The chief organizer, S. Majidullah Husaini and general secretary of EPTTPA aired words of thanks to the players, referees and volunteers for making this only Open event in Saudi Arabia organized on an international level. He said plan is underway to invite Indian and Pakistani players for the next meet. The others who assisted in the organization were Aziz Faridi, Swamy, Azzaz Ahmed, Khawaja Mohiuddin, S. K. Javed and S. K. Mahmood.
All other winners of various levels are:

Level 3: 1. Yusuf Sharida, 2. Muhammd Al Humud, 3. Abdulla Khaldi, 4. Salim Abbad.

Level 4: 1. Ashfaq Ali, 2. Ahmad Ghaffar, 3. Muhammed Jaber, 4. Hamida Mustafa.

Level 5: 1. Mustafa Ali Khan, 2. Jawaid Hameed, 3. Francis Galarita, 4. Ray Bacudo.

Level 6: 1. Muhammed Ali Ferchichi, 2. Roger Navaro, 3. Ilyas Noor, 4. Muhammed Shayan

Level 7: 1. Abdul Rahman, 2. Muhammed Shayan, 3. Querico Sandal, 4. Leo Adrias

Level 8: 1. Roger Aguilar, 2. Jesus Abalo, 3. Rehan Khan, 4. Paul Joseph

Level 9: 1. Richard, 2. Abdullah Mustafa, 3. Pasky Fernandes, 4. Doming Cane

Level 10: 1. Butch Aquilar, 2. Aziz Faridi, 3. Eddie Rabada, 4. Joe Tamyo

Level 11: 1. Pio Remelo, 2. Efren Camacho, 3. Amjad Munawar, 4. Edwin Laquit

Level 12: 1. Abdulla Moulana, 2. Sharath Nair, 3. Rene Dela Rosa, 4. Warlito Espa.

Advertise Here